Drow

November 8, 2008

I feel like I learnt more from just the first two days of the Word module than the whole of the previous Image one. My brain is suffering from information overload though, I think. I can’t walk past a shop sign/magazine stand/advert without automatically feeling like I have to classify every single different typeface and work out what kind of personality it has. This is good in helping me to retain all the info but a bit of a nightmare when sitting on the bus through the city centre. *

This module has kind of enlightened me to the fact that such tiny things can have a massive effect on what something is trying to say. Definitely will think much more about layout and type next time I design something.. hopefully the more practice I get, the more it will become naturally intuitive. At the moment I feel like I’m going to look at anything I’ve designed in the past and just see hundreds of flaws within it, but I guess that’s a good thing!

* It reminds me of the time when I was about eight or nine & I realised sometimes words make some kind of sense backwards (yes, I was a lonely child) and thus went through a kind of OCD-like phase of trying to say any word I saw, backwards. In my head, of course. fo esruoc..!

Leave a Reply

